European Festival Awards – Shortlists

With the 10th edition of the European Festival Awards set to take place on January 16th in Groningen, The Netherlands, we’re announcing the shortlists for 14 of the ceremony’s categories.

We’d like to extend a huge thank you to all of those who applied, voted, and otherwise participated in the Awards this year.

Tickets for the ceremony are expected to go fast, and can be purchased here. Premium tickets, which include a sit-down dinner and access to both the drinks reception and afterparty, are priced at €100. Tribune seats are available for €30.

The Brand Activation Award
Presented by: EMAC

Haven Festival & IKEA
Open’er Festival & Mastercard
Paleo Festival Nyon & HES-SO
Ruisrock & Fortum
Sziget Festival & Telekom
Untold & Coca-Cola

The Take a Stand Award
Presented by: Take a Stand

ARTmania Festival & EEMC
Bankito Festival
EXIT Festival
Greenbelt Festival
Pohoda Festival

The Green Operations Award
Presented by: Go Group

DGTL Amsterdam (The Netherlands)
EDP Cooljazz (Portugal)
The Green Gathering (UK)
NorthSide Festival (Denmark)
Paradise City (Belgium)
We Love Green (France)

The Health & Safety Innovation Award
Presented by: YES Group

Lowlands (The Netherlands)
OpenAir St.Gallen (Switzerland)
Pinkpop (The Netherlands)
Roskilde Festival (Denmark)
Ruisrock (Finland)
Reload Festival (Germany)

Promoter of the Year
Alter Art (Poland)
Barracuda (Austria)
Down the Drain (Denmark)
FKP Scorpio (Germany)
Luger (Sweden)
Mojo (The Netherlands)
Roskilde Festival (Denmark)
Ruisrock (Finland)
Wacken ICS (Germany)
Wepromote (Switzerland)

Agent of the Year
Alex Hardee (Coda Music Agency)
Angus Baskerville (13 Artists)
Clementine Bunel (Coda Music Agency)
Emma Banks (CAA)
Isla Angus (ATC Live)
Josh Javor (X-Ray Touring)
Mike Greek (CAA)
Paul Wilson (CAA)
Rob Challice (Coda Music Agency)
Steve Zapp (ITB)

The Award for Excellence and Passion
Ben Challis
Chris Tofu
Eric van Eerdenburg
Gabi Ruiz
Holger Jan Schmidt
Ivan Milivojev
Jean-Louis Brossard
Michal Kascak
Philippe Cornu
Stefan Lehmkuhl

Best Indoor Festival
Presented by: eps

Autumn Moon Festival
c/o pop Festival
Metal Hammer Paradise
Mladí Ladí Jazz
PULS Festival
Rolling Stone Park
Rolling Stone Weekender
Waves Vienna
WOS Festival x SON Estrella Galicia

Newcomer of the Year
Presented by: Eurosonic Noorderslag

Greta van Fleet
Jorja Smith
Zeal & Ardor

Line-Up of the Year
Presented by: ID&C

Graspop Metal Meeting
Mad Cool Festival
Open’er Festival
OpenAir St.Gallen
Primavera Sound
Rock Werchter
Roskilde Festival

Best New Festival
Presented by: allbuyone

Arcadia London
Festival 84
Full Metal Holiday
Neverland Festival
Rolling Stone Park
The Monastery
Werner Rennen 

Best Small Festival

ARTmania Festival
LB27 Reggae Camp
Metal Hammer Paradise
Mladí Ladí Jazz
PULS Festival
Tauron Nowa Muzyka Katowice
Telekom Electronic Beats Festival
Wacken Winter Nights
Ypsigrock Festival

Best Medium-Sized Festival

Electric Castle
Happiness Festival
North Sea Jazz
NorthSide Festival
OFF Festival
Reeperbahn Festival
Reload Festival
Sea Dance Festival

Best Major Festival

Colours of Ostrava
Open’er Festival
Rock Werchter
Roskilde Festival
Sziget Festival
Wacken Open Air

Festival Awards Europe

The European Festival Awards is an illustrious celebration of the continent’s most vibrant live events and all of those who make them happen. 

With a set of attendees as eclectic as they are respected, the European Festival Awards is widely considered to be the premier event for recognising the beloved industry’s collective achievements. Last year’s event saw a record breaking edition with over 800,000 votes, and more than 350 festivals taking part from 50 different European countries. The ceremony comprises 17 accolades, which are presented in succession to the winners – some decided by public vote and others by a select committee – amidst an atmosphere of excitement and maybe a little amicable rivalry. What’s more, the proceedings are punctuated with performances from the continent’s hottest emerging talent.

The European Festival Awards were established in 2009 in co-operation with Festival Awards Ltd, Yourope (the European Festival Association) and Eurosonic Noorderslag. The European Festival Awards show takes place in De Oosterpoort in Groningen, NL.
More Information:


Steve Jenner

Festival Awards

Our current activities